AGM: Chamber members hear report, elect new board members

Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce president David Sawatzky addressed the crowd and delivered his annual report at the AGM.  - Kevin Mills Photos
Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce president David Sawatzky addressed the crowd and delivered his annual report at the AGM.
— image credit: Kevin Mills Photos

Members of the Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce gathered together for the annual AGM and election of new board members last week.

President David Sawatzky addressed the crowd an delivered his annual report on the past year’s activities.

“What an incredible year it has been for the Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce, and what an experience it has bee for me personally,” he said to the crowd at the Mission Golf and Country Club.

“At this time last year, I was cautiously but eagerly assuming the responsibilities of president of the chamber, and having just completed the development of a new three year strategic plan, the overarching course for our board and committees was very clear; to provide a high level of value for our members through increased advocacy, benefits and connections.”

Sawatzky said looking back at the past year, he believes they accomplished just that. He also thanked staff  for all their efforts.

Sawatzky also told the crowd the Government Affairs Committee has “taken leaps forward this year” with policy acceptance at both the provincial and federal levels.

“Over the last year members of our Government Affairs Committee have been invited to speak to, and participate in policy discussions by different working groups and agencies all around the lower mainland which clearly demonstrates this increased level of respect and influence.”

Last year, the chamber also evaluated its role in delivering tourism services in the community.

That task started with consultations and information the chamber provided to the tourism consultants which were contracted by the District of Mission. This gave the chamber an opportunity to fully re-evaluate what they provide currently with respect to tourism.

“This also gave us a new look at what the businesses reliant on tourism in Mission require from a comprehensive tourism plan.”

After his report, elections were held for the new board positions.

Sawatzky will return as president, while the new vice-president is Andrea Walker and the new treasurer is Alana Martens.

Four directors who were elected to two-year terms include:

  • Sean Melia
  • Tia Everitt
  • Raj Patara
  • Tony Luck

Two directors elected to one year terms are:

  • Asvind Mani
  • Ilona Klimczak

Standing Directors are:

  • Brian Rock
  • Jason Hughes

Directors by Appointment (Liaisons):

  • District of Mission - Mayor Randy Hawes
  • Community Futures of North Fraser- Allan Main
  • MDBA - Carlo Billinger

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event