Left to right: Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce president Ann Harper and newly elected directors Alana Martens

New chamber directors take oath

The Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce held its annual general meeting on Thursday and elected a new slate of directors.

A new board of directors for the Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce was sworn in Thursday afternoon.

Members at the annual general meeting elected Tony Luck from Investors Group and Heather Scoular from the Mission library to a one-year term, ending in 2016.

Alana Martens (Fraser Valley Ace Hardware), Dave Sawatzky (Nutek Sign Creations), Doug Elias (STS Guiding), and Ilona Klimczak (CEC Health and Safety) were elected to two-year terms, ending in 2017.

The group will be led by the executive slate of Ann Harper (Mission City Business Centre) as president, Cal Crawford (Landmark Realty) as vice president, and Sean Melia (Prospera Credit Union) as treasurer/secretary.

Directors appointed to the board are Mayor Randy Hawes, representing the District of Mission, Allan Main, Community Futures North Fraser, and Satti Grewal, Mission Downtown Business Association.

Standing directors with terms ending in 2016 are Andrea Walker and Dustin Hughes.

Harper welcomed the new board members and noted this year was the first time in a long time there has been competition for the positions.

“I look forward to getting to know you and your skills,” said Harper.

The chamber will develop new strategic and succession plans, continue to work hard to understand issues affecting all business, and advocate all levels of government on behalf of its members.

“Together, we will continue to be the voice of business in Mission,” said Harper.