Outlaws players nominated for year-end awards

— image credit:

The Mission City Outlaws have submitted their list and are hoping some of their top players from this past season get recognized by the Pacific Junior Hockey League.

The annual PJHL individual awards are expected to be handed out later this month, and Outlaws forward Justin Bowerman has been nominated by the club for most valuable player.

Bowerman had 30 points in 42 games and played a key role on the Outlaws all season long.

Outlaws defenceman Brenden Saether has been nominated for rookie of the year by the club. Saether suited up in all 44 games this season for Mission, and recorded eight points.

Holden Wilkerson has been shortlisted for defenceman of the year, after picking up four points and 113 penalty minutes on the back end.

Mission forward Sammy Zeinab is up for inspirational player of the year. The Surrey native picked up 40 points and 148 penalty minutes in 43 games for the Outlaws this season.

Rookie defender Michael Nemeth is up for most improved player of the year. He kept getting better as the season continued, and recorded three points in the Outlaws’ five playoff games.

Rookie forward Kyle Mooney is the Mission representative for the most sportsmanlike award. Mooney compiled just 24 penalty minutes in 33 games this season.

The PJHL final, which features the Delta Ice Hawks squaring off against the Aldergrove Kodiaks, kicks off on Friday in Aldergrove. The Outlaws are the only team to have defeated the Kodiaks in postseason action, as Aldergrove swept the Ridge Meadows Flames in round two.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event