Mission’s Diane Kamgianis receives her Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence honour earlier this month. (Submitted) Mission’s Diane Kamgianis receives her Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence honour earlier this month. (Submitted)

Mission’s Kamagianis earns skating honour

Figure skating judge receives nod from Skate BC/Yukon

A Mission resident’s years of contributions to the sport of figure skating were recognized earlier this month.

Diane Kamagianis, a member of the Mission Skating Club, received the Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence honour at the Skate Canada BC/Yukon annual general meeting on May 10.

Kamagianis has been judging the sport for over 30 years and most recently officiated at the 2017 Junior World Synchronized Skating Championships in Mississauga, Ont. in March. She is an international-level synchronized skating judge and has judged local, national an international synchro events.

The Officials Award of Excellence is awarded based on: having a demonstrated knowledge of, and being articulate regarding, Skate Canada programs and philosophies; being an official who is keen to share accurate information with other officials, athletes, coaches, parents and administrators with the interest/intent of developing figure skating and figure skaters in Canada; and being an individual who has given, and will continue to provide, quality service at the sectional, national and/or international level.

“She has been judging for over 30 years and regularly gives back by volunteering at local competitions around the Lower Mainland while also officiating at national and international synchro events,” stated Danielle Williams, the director of operations for Skate Canada BC/Yukon.

Kamagianis also played a significant role at the Mission 2014 BC Winter Games as the participant accreditation chair of the registration and results division.

Others honoured at the event included athletes Kathy Matousek, Donna Lee Zaleski and John Mitchell, as well as coach Jean Westwood.

The recipients were presented with their awards on May 6 at the annual awards banquet in Burnaby. The winners received their awards from various presenters, including 2017 Canadian silver medalist and 2014 Olympic silver medalist Kevin Reynolds, and 2013 Canadian junior ladies champion and 2017 national team member Larkyn Austman. For more, visit skatinginbc.com.