New directors elected

Grey Cup GM Scott Ackles

Grey Cup GM Scott Ackles

Some changes to the Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce board of directors were realized March 9, preceded by keynote speaker Scott Ackles, general manager of the 2011 Grey Cup.

Ackles explained to the crowd at the annual general meeting the impact hosting a large event like the Canadian Football League’s biggest game of the year can have on a community, and noted using the West Coast Express in a fashion similar to when the 2010 Olympics were in town, can further benefit outlying communities.

Following Ackles, eight directors were elected to the board of directors. They include: Cal Crawford (president-elect), Elyssa Lockhart (vice-president elect), Todd Bugge, Chuck Vander Byl, Ann Harper, Attila Davalovsky, Satti Grewal and Sean Melia. These members join the existing board that are completing the second half of their two-year term: Ted Adlem, Phil Hope, Kelly Vaille, Mayor James Atebe (district liaison), Oleene Herman (community futures liaison), Dr. Lynden Balisky (DBA liaison) and Tony LaPointe (treasurer).

“The Chamber welcomes the addition of three new faces to the board who bring their energy and passion for the community to the table,” commented Helen Secco, outgoing chamber president.

“It tells me that there is interest from the membership to continue to move forward.”

The new directors’ inauguration will be March 17 at the chamber’s monthly luncheon, held at Rockwell’s Restaurant. The luncheon will also play host to a member forum which help give directors a clear understanding of the needs and challenges facing the membership.

For information on luncheon tickets, call 604-826-6914.

We are experiencing technical difficulties with our commenting platform and hope to be up and running again soon. In the meantime, you can still send us your thoughts on Facebook or Twitter, or submit a letter to the editor.
Pop-up banner image ×