Gage Mack crosses the finish line Saturday at the 2014 Mission Soapbox Derby.

Gage Mack crosses the finish line Saturday at the 2014 Mission Soapbox Derby.

UPDATE: Gerlach wins derby

Hundreds turned out for this year's Mission Soapbox Derby

North Vancouver’s Megan Gerlach dominated the Mission Soapbox Derby for the third consecutive year.

The 14-year-old grand champion blew away her competitors as she crossed the finish line in just 36.26 seconds hitting speeds of 57.1 km/h.

Gerlach’s closest competitor, William Dorbric, who is also from North Vancouver, finished at 39.01. His top speed was 53.1 km/h.

The fastest racer from Mission was Teagan Dunnett, who finished third overall in the tournament with a time of 39.36, and 52.8 km/h.

“It was a phenomenal day,” said Mission and District Soapbox Derby Association president Remco Bergman. “I had a blast. We have good kids in Mission, good parents too.”

Connor Pattison was named the Rookie Boy of the Year, and Helena Phillips was crowned the Rookie Girl of the Year. Gerald Becker won the Sportsmanship Award.

Beckett Evans received the first Citizen Award, presented by Abbotsford-Mission MLA Simon Gibson.

Evans received the award after declaring the race was not about winning, it was about participating and having fun, said Bergman.

In the mayor vs. mayor race, which kicked off the day, Abbotsford’s Bruce Banman finished about a car length ahead of Mission’s Ted Adlem.

While the average speed for the day was 45 km/h, the mayors’ top speed was just 35 km/h.

It was the slowest race all day, chuckled Bergman, who is stepping down as the association’s president to focus on his own career.

“There is a really good crew of people running the derby,” said Bergman, who is considering being a volunteer next year. “But we need board members.”

For more information about the MDSDA, visit

Just Posted

Cpl. Scott MacLeod and Police Service Dog Jago. Jago was killed in the line of duty on Thursday, June 17. (RCMP)
Abbotsford police, RCMP grieve 4-year-old service dog killed in line of duty

Jago killed by armed suspect during ‘high-risk’ incident in Alberta

Kalyn Head, seen here on June 4, 2021, will be running 100 kilometres for her “birthday marathon” fundraiser on July 23. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
Woman’s 100-km birthday marathon from Chilliwack to Abbotsford will benefit Special Olympics B.C.

Kalyn Head hopes run raises awareness, advocates for inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities

Missing Abbotsford man Adam Hobbs was found deceased on Thursday evening (June 17).
Body of missing Abbotsford man Adam Hobbs found

Hobbs was reported missing Monday after leaving his job site in Langley

UFV athletes were honoured for their strength and perseverance during the pandemic. (UFV photo)
Fraser Valley athletes recognized in year without sports

UFV Cascades athletes honoured for strength shown during the pandemic

Mission students hold rally, say everyone welcome at school

Ecole Christine Morrison Elementary School hosted an Anti-Racism Day on June 15

Marco Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship during a press conference in Ottawa on Thursday, May 13, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Canada to welcome 45,000 refugees this year, says immigration minister

Canada plans to increase persons admitted from 23,500 to 45,000 and expedite permanent residency applications

Emily Steele holds up a collage of her son, 16-year-old Elijah-Iain Beauregard who was stabbed and killed in June 2019, outside of Kelowna Law Courts on June 18. (Aaron Hemens/Capital News)
Kelowna woman who fatally stabbed teen facing up to 1.5 years of jail time

Her jail sentence would be followed by an additional one to 1.5 years of supervision

The George Road wildfire near Lytton, B.C., has grown to 250 hectares. (BC Wildfire Service)
B.C. drone sighting halts helicopters fighting 250 hectares of wildfire

‘If a drone collides with firefighting aircraft the consequences could be deadly,’ says BC Wildfire Service

A dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine is pictured at a vaccination site in Vancouver Thursday, March 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
NACI advice to mix vaccines gets varied reaction from AstraZeneca double-dosers

NACI recommends an mRNA vaccine for all Canadians receiving a second dose of a COVID-19 vaccine

A aerial view shows the debris going into Quesnel Lake caused by a tailings pond breach near the town of Likely, B.C., Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Updated tailings code after Mount Polley an improvement: B.C. mines auditor

British Columbia’s chief auditor of mines has found changes to the province’s requirements for tailings storage facilities

A North Vancouver man was arrested Friday and three police officers were injured after a 10-person broke out at English Bay on June 19, 2021. (Youtube/Screen grab)
Man arrested, 3 police injured during 10-person brawl at Vancouver beach

The arrest was captured on video by bystanders, many of whom heckled the officers as they struggled with the handcuffed man

Surrey Fire Service battled a dock fire along the Fraser River late Friday night (June 18). It was on Musqueam Drive, near Industrial Road, around 10:45 p.m. (Photo: Shane MacKichan)
VIDEO: Fire engulfs pier on Surrey side of the Fraser River

Dock has reportedly been unused for a long time

People in Metro Vancouver can expect to experience a short wave of heat just in time for Father’s Day, according to Environment Canada. (Black Press Media files)
Short-lived heatwave headed for Metro Vancouver this weekend

Temperatures are expected to be up to 10 degrees higher than average Sunday and Monday

Most Read