Mission Community Foundation has awarded $50

More than $50,000 given in awards to Mission students

Mission Community Foundation handed out its annual bursaries and scholarships this month.

  • May. 25, 2015 12:00 p.m.

Mission Community Foundation has awarded $50,500 worth of bursaries and scholarships this year.

During n awards ceremony at the Clarke Theatre on May 13, 50 Grade 12 recipients from Hatzic Secondary School (HSS), Heritage Park Secondary School (HPSS), Mission Secondary School (MSS), and Riverside College received financial awards.

Anyone can contribute to any of the foundation’s more than 80 funds, at any time, or establish a new fund to grow a lasting legacy, today and for tomorrow.

The list of 2015 winners include:


Adair Family Fund:

Kayla Shuurmans, MSS

McAllaster Treacher, HPSS


Carly Rae Jepsen Bursary Fund:

Brooke Webb, HSS


Circle of Wisdom Society Fund:

Kyla Borchert, MSS


Debbie Mattson Memorial Fund:

Mackenzie Schuurman, HSS


Dirk Boswyk Fund:

Alexandra McSween, HPSS

Wilfred Neumann, HPSS

Vincent Andruk, HPSS

Matthew Ursaki, MSS

Kristoff Iliou, HPSS

Ashley Matthews, MSS

Liam Johnson, MSS


Ellis Family Fund:

Riley Weymann, HPSS


Fenmo Boswyk Music Fund:

Jessica Sheffield, HPSS

Hallie Bryant Rounthwaite, MSS

Nahalie Alves, HPSS


Finch Family Fund:

Shaylene Wangler, MSS


Hollister UFV Science & Technological Entry Level Scholarship Fund (Hatzic):

Samantha Thirkell, HSS


Hollister UFV Science & Technological Entry Level Scholarship Fund (Mission):

Tye Petty, MSS


Jim Slusarchuk Memorial Fund:

Kara Williams, HSS


Leduc Fund:

Beatriz Tusi,MSS


Margaret Erskine Bursary Fund:

Sydney Power, HSS

Mason Young, HPSS

Vanessa Giesbrecht, HPSS


Mission Hillstompers Terry Cox Athletic Bursary Fund:

Rebecca Chappell-Moss, HPS


Robin and Fran Sorrell Fund:

Vanessa Giesbrecht, HPSS



Albert McMahon Memorial Fund:

Travis Arcand, MSS


Derrough Fund:

Thomas Van Vliet, Riverside


Elizabeth O. Stevens Memorial Fund:

Victoria Fryer, HPSS

Mhairi MacDonald, HPSS



Esther Claire Kathleen Clemo Scholarship Fund:

Melissa Muise, MSS

Amol Litt, MSS



Michael & Cynthia Butcher Fund:

Anna Neufeld, HPSS


SU#30 Robson Family Fund:

Eunmin (Esther) Cho, HPSS



Hannah Dodd Memorial Scholarship Fund:

Tia Young, MSS



John and BJ Pearson Fund:

Laura Johnston, MSS



Marco Corbin Scholarship Fund:

Samantha Wood-Gaines, HPSS



Jack Cannon Memorial Fund:

Mackenzie Simon, MSS



Aldergrove Credit Union:

Gillian Forstbauer, MSS

Jensen Kirby, MSS

Anyssa Meyer, MSS



Business & Professional Women’s Club of Mission:

Christina Diewold, MSS


Mission Auxiliary Healthcare:

Skyla Brandy, HSS

Hannah Young, HPSS

Vanessa Niedzielski, HPSS


SU#19 Mission Regional Chamber of Commerce Business Legacy Fund:

Marlies Kerkhoven, HSS


Mission Rotary Club (Midday):

Euijin (Danny) Jung, MSS

Kirendeep Dhaliwal, MSS


Mission Rotary Club (Sunrise):

Min Byol (Amy) Kim, HPSS

Seong-Hoon Jung, MSS


Albert McMahon Mission City Rotary Club Fund:

Connor Funk, HPSS


(Each student received $1,000 except for  Connor Funk who received $1,500 and Samantha Thirkell and Tye Petty each received $1,000 plus their first year’s tuition waived at UFV.)



Just Posted

Mission RCMP recover 22 stolen vehicles and several firearms

Charges are still pending after police search two separate properties

Fraser Health asking taxpayers for millions more in health care capital funding

Health authority wants Fraser Valley taxpayers to triple annual contribution to $5.75 million

Brother of teen killed by stray bullet in Vancouver says the death left a void

Alfred Wong, 15, was gunned down while on his way home from dinner with his family

UPDATE: Rockslide keeps Coquihalla northbound lane closed

Highway 5 is closed in one direction.

Downtown Mission: Ready to revitalize

With the bidding process underway, construction could start by mid-March

Testing the Google Arts & Culture app

Going face to face with art

Man lives despite malfunctioning defibrillator at B.C. arena

A middle-aged man went into cardiac arrest after at game at Pitt Meadows Arena last Wednesday.

Cause of Northern B.C. seaplane crash released

TSB releases report on seaplane crash during a water landing in 2016 near First Nations community

Vancouver police crack down on pop-up pot vendors

Officers raided merchants’ tables on Robson Square late Sunday

Bell Media, NFL take appeal over Super Bowl ad rules to top court

At issue is a ban on substituting American ads with Canadian ones during the game’s broadcast

Crown seeks 4.5 years jail for B.C. woman convicted of counselling tax evasion

Debbie Anderson the latest from group to face jail for teaching debunked ‘natural person’ theory

Movie filmed in Castlegar B.C. opens Friday

Hollow in the Land starring Dianna Agron will be playing in select cinemas.

Semi rollover on Highway 3

Highway 3 is reduced to single-alternating lanes

Cougar window shops at Banff grocery store

An RCMP officer spots a cougar outside an Alberta grocery store

Most Read