Randy Hawes will be leading Mission for the next four years. As mayor

New council takes office next week

Community invited to attend inauguration event at Clarke

The new mayor and council will be sworn into office at a special induction ceremony on Dec. 1 at the Clarke Theatre.

The public is invited to attend the inaugural meeting at 1 p.m.

Commissioner of oath John Tait will preside over the oaths of office and the new mayor, Randy Hawes, will deliver his inaugural address. Councillors for Mission for 2014-2018 will be Pam Alexis, Carol Hamilton, Jim Hinds, Rhett Nicholson, Danny Plecas, and Jenny Stevens.

This will be followed by the appointments of boards and committees and acting mayor. A reception will follow.

The first regular council meeting for the new mayor and council will be held on the same evening at 6 p.m. at Municipal Hall.

A date has not yet been set to swear in the Mission school board trustees.

Trustees for the 2014-2018 term are Randy Cairns, Shelley Carter, Tracy Loffler, Rick McKamey, and Jim Taylor.

The first regular board meeting for the new trustees will be on Dec. 16 at Mission Central elementary.