North Vancouver Wolf Pack and Mission Outlaws goalies Trevor Withers and Jeff Veitch shake hands at centre ice at the end of the game. The Wolf Pack won 3-2 to win the league final.

Outlaws ousted from final, still playing for provincial crown

Despite losing the league championship to the Wolf Pack, the Mission Outlaws are going to the provincials.

The Mission Outlaws have been eliminated from the league championship finals, but while the squad may be down, they aren’t out.

The local junior B hockey club lost 3-2 on home ice to the North Vancouver Wolf Pack on Friday night, giving the Wolf Pack the league title by a margin of four games to two.

The Outlaws players looked devastated after the loss, but they know the season is not over.

Mission is the host team of this year’s Cyclone Taylor Cup – the provincial hockey championship tournament – and will join the championship teams from B.C.’s three leagues in a four-team round robin playoff.

The Outlaws join the league champion Wolf Pack along with  Vancouver Island champions the Campbell River Storm and the Kootenay champs (still to be decided between the Kamloops Storm and the Kimberley Dynamiters).

The Cyclone Taylor Cup runs April 3-6 at the Mission Leisure Centre.For more information visit


Just Posted

UPDATE: Man in mid-20s killed in targeted shooting in Abbotsford

Location of shooting the same as where innocent bystander Ping Shun Ao killed in 2015

Fraser Health asking taxpayers for millions more in health care capital funding

Health authority wants Fraser Valley taxpayers to triple annual contribution to $5.75 million

Downtown Mission: Ready to revitalize

With the bidding process underway, construction could start by mid-March

‘Compassion club’ operator loses bid to have pot-trafficking charges thrown out

Bob Woolsey of Mission argues that laws were not valid at the time of alleged offences

Location eyed for possible collector well

New estimate puts price tag of new water source at $81 million

B.C. cougar kitten rescued after mother struck by vehicle

Conservation Officers find home for young kitten found dehydrated and frostbitten near Williams Lake

Vancouver hoping free public Wi-Fi expansion will drive tourism dollars

Mayor Gregor Robertson says expansion bolsters its “leading Smart City” status

Women’s movement has come a long way since march on Washington: Activists

Vancouver one of several cities hosting event on anniversary of historic Women’s March on Washington

Liberals’ 2-year infrastructure plan set to take 5: documents

Government says 793 projects totalling $1.8 billion in federal funds have been granted extensions

Workers shouldn’t be used as ‘pawns’ in minimum wage fight: Wynne

Comments from Kathleen Wynne after demonstrators rallied outside Tim Hortons locations across Canada

John ‘Chick’ Webster, believed to be oldest living former NHL player, dies

Webster died Thursday at his home in Mattawa, Ont., where he had resided since 1969

Giants fall in six-round shootout

Visiting Victoria squad beats Vancouver 4-3 at Langley Events Centre

World’s fastest log car made in B.C. sells for $350,000 US

Cedar Rocket auctioned off three times at Barrett-Jackson Co., netting $350,000 US for veterans

Bad timing: Shutdown spoils Trump’s one-year festivities

Trump spends day trying to hash out a deal with Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer

Most Read