Inaugural Doorwarz event has a wild finish at Mission Raceway

Mission driver has to shut down in final round of Pro Mod

  • Jul. 11, 2013 10:00 a.m.

California's John Scialpi won the Pro Mod class last Sunday.

The first Doorwarz event at Mission Raceway is in the books and what a wild finish.

Twenty-eight cars were in attendance for the Outlaw Pro Mod Class and the final round came down to a battle of Team USA and Team Canada, represented by California’s John Scialpi and local Mission driver Jay Syvertsen.

Syvertsen had a tense time to reach the final as his group assisted another California team (Hangman Racing) throughout the event. The Hanger team blew up two engines to get into eliminations and lost in the quarter-finals.

Syvertsen lost his motor in his semi-final win and had to take the engine from the Hanger team’s car and install it for the final round. The team had as many as 20 guys working feverishly to make the necessary repairs.

At 5:30 p.m.Sunday, the two teams fired up their cars and did their burnouts. While the Syvertsen car was backing up a fluid leak was spotted and the race starter had to shut down the car, giving the Scialpi team a single run for the win. Sciapli took home the $20,000 winner’s cheque, and Syvertsen won $5,000 for the runner-up.

The #1 qualifier in Outlaw Pro Mod was California’s Rod Burbage using a screw supercharger. He went 6.006/246 mph in the first round of qualifying Friday night. Unfortunately for Burbage, he broke his transmission in the first round of elimination’s and was done for the weekend.  John Sciapli was the quickest Root supercharged car in qualifying with a 6.12/231 mph. Mike Gondziola from Saskatoon was the quickest nitrous-powered car, going 6.10/238 mph. Dale Pedersen from Dawson Creek was the quickest turbocharged car, running a 6.15/233 mph, and Terry Spargo was the quickest competitor using an engine without a power adder. He went 6.60/210 mph.

The other Doorwarz class winners were Washington’s Eric Halverson over Aldergrove’s Steve Nicholson in Outlaw 10.5. Scott Schulhauser from Calgary won Outlaw 275 over Steve Skokins from Surrey.  Justin Gallant from Langley BC defeated Dyan Lover from Port Alberni BC Mission’s Zak Clarke won the Sunday Top Sportsman Final over Edmonton’s Paul Glandon, Justin Bond from Mission won the Saturday Top Sportsman final over Abbotsford’s Dan Provost. In the Canada West Doorslammer final round it was Mike Bedsworth defeating Calgary’s Darren Williams. The web site has the full results from the event.

Next weekend (July 19-21) at Mission Raceway is the Lucas Oil Canadian National Open presented by Jet Equipment Canada. As many as 32 Funny Cars will put on a wild show Saturday night under the lights and all day Sunday. Go to Mission for the National Open details and don’t forget kids under 12 get in free with a paid adult admission ticket.



Just Posted

Casino move, expansion approved by Mission council

Council votes 6-1 in favour of proposal, Chances still need final approval from the BCLC

No plans yet for free WiFi on Abbotsford and Mission buses

BC Transit says they are monitoring the roll-out of free WiFi on Translink vehicles

UPDATE: Heavy rainfall, strong winds in forecast for Lower Mainland

Heavy rains, snow expected till Friday morning

UPDATE: Barge continues to smolder near Silverdale

After 12 hours, Mission firefighters stop their efforts, hand situation over to the province

UFV students raise money to keep ‘nicest’ person in Abbotsford

Foreign student struggles to pay for schooling after Trump withdrawal from Iran deal

UPDATE: B.C. businesses evacuated due to emailed bomb threat, also received in U.S.

Penticton and Comox Valley businesses evacuated Thursday morning

$12K awarded to atheist family who oppose Christmas, Hanukkah in B.C. classroom

Gary Mangel,May Yasue said holidays, Remembrance Day and Valentine’s Day not appropriate in preschool

Coach accused of sexual assault says apology letter was misinterpreted

Dave Brubaker has pleaded not guilty to one count of sexual assault and one count of invitation to sexual touching

Give the gift of nature this holiday season

Please don’t be mad, but I bought you a moose

Aboriginal poet faces backlash for calling out NHL-themed totem poles

Rebecca Thomas says she received backlash for asking a drugstore chain to remove NHL merchandise

Some Kotex tampons recalled in Canada and U.S.

In some cases, tampon users sought medical attention “to remove tampon pieces left in the body.”

Sex-assault squad investigated eight incidents at Toronto all-boys’ school

The interim president of a Roman Catholic all-boys school rocked by student-on-student abuse allegations said the football program was cancelled for next year.

Coal power in Canada must disappear by the end of 2029, new regulations say

Canada has significantly cut its dependence on coal largely due to the closure of all coal plants in Ontario.

‘Naive approach’ to China at fault in Meng mess: Scheer

Conservative Leader Andrew Scheer called on the Trudeau government to “unequivocally denounce any type of repercussions to Canadians on foreign soil.”

Most Read