The U-14 Mission Mud Dawgs field lacrosse squad celebrate their bronze medal victory at the provincial championships.

Mud Dawgs bring home hardware

Mission field lacrosse club finishes season by winning three medals at the boys provincial championships.

The Mission Mud Dawgs field lacrosse club finished the season by winning three medals at the boys provincial field lacrosse championships.

The U-19 squad led the way with its second consecutive finals appearance.  Coach Terry Crondahl’s club came up just short as they lost the final to the Coquitlam Adanacs despite a game MVP performance from goalie Jake Sundar.

The U-16 team made it to the semifinals where they upset the number-three seeded team from Ridge Meadows. Tej Grewal was named game MVP.

The final saw Mission matched up against a  Richmond team that came into the final undefeated. The boys jumped out to a 4-1 lead. However, the powerhouse from Richmond showed why they were unbeaten, as they came back to win the final 8-5.

Nathan Mckeigan was named game MVP and was also selected as the MVP of the tournament in the U-16 age group.

The surprise medal came in the U-14 tier 1 division where the Mission boys entered the tournament as the lowest seed.  In the opening game they tied the top-ranked New Westminster Salmonbellies 3-3 in what was an amazing defensive effort. They followed that up with a victory over number-six seeded Pacific Rim, which put the locals into the semifinals.

The boys lost the semifinal game to Ridge Meadows and then bounced back in the bronze medal game where they upset the second-seeded team from Victoria 8-5. Imat Grewal was named game MVP.

Goaltender Colton Caron added tournament MVP to his earlier game MVP award, becoming the fifth Mud Dawg player in club history to win a provincial tournament MVP award. The U-14 tier 1 team also received the Team Sportsmanship Award.

The U-12 team coached by Gary Porter and Gabby Jensen attended their first provincial championship tournament and individual game MVP performances were turned in by Dylan Hawkins, Cody McMahon, and Garner Mitchell.


Just Posted

UPDATE: Man in mid-20s killed in targeted shooting in Abbotsford

Location of shooting the same as where innocent bystander Ping Shun Ao killed in 2015

Fraser Health asking taxpayers for millions more in health care capital funding

Health authority wants Fraser Valley taxpayers to triple annual contribution to $5.75 million

Downtown Mission: Ready to revitalize

With the bidding process underway, construction could start by mid-March

‘Compassion club’ operator loses bid to have pot-trafficking charges thrown out

Bob Woolsey of Mission argues that laws were not valid at the time of alleged offences

Location eyed for possible collector well

New estimate puts price tag of new water source at $81 million

B.C. cougar kitten rescued after mother struck by vehicle

Conservation Officers find home for young kitten found dehydrated and frostbitten near Williams Lake

Vancouver hoping free public Wi-Fi expansion will drive tourism dollars

Mayor Gregor Robertson says expansion bolsters its “leading Smart City” status

Women’s movement has come a long way since march on Washington: Activists

Vancouver one of several cities hosting event on anniversary of historic Women’s March on Washington

Liberals’ 2-year infrastructure plan set to take 5: documents

Government says 793 projects totalling $1.8 billion in federal funds have been granted extensions

Workers shouldn’t be used as ‘pawns’ in minimum wage fight: Wynne

Comments from Kathleen Wynne after demonstrators rallied outside Tim Hortons locations across Canada

John ‘Chick’ Webster, believed to be oldest living former NHL player, dies

Webster died Thursday at his home in Mattawa, Ont., where he had resided since 1969

Giants fall in six-round shootout

Visiting Victoria squad beats Vancouver 4-3 at Langley Events Centre

World’s fastest log car made in B.C. sells for $350,000 US

Cedar Rocket auctioned off three times at Barrett-Jackson Co., netting $350,000 US for veterans

Bad timing: Shutdown spoils Trump’s one-year festivities

Trump spends day trying to hash out a deal with Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer

Most Read