Election 2014: Five mayoral, 19 council candidates in Mission

District of Mission: Nomination period closed Friday with five registering to run for council

Five candidates have entered to race for mayor in next month’s municipal election. Nominations closed Friday, Oct. 10.

Incumbent Ted Adlem, FVRD Electoral Area C director Wendy Bales, community advocate Kevin Francis, retired MLA Randy Hawes, and Coun. Tony Luck have put their names forward to lead Mission for the next four years.

There are 19 candidates vying for six seats on council. Incumbents Dave Hensman, Jeff Jewell, Larry Nundal, and Jenny Stevens are seeking re-election. Also entering the race are Pam Alexis, Bobby Brar, Attila Davalovsky, Don Forsythe, Terry Gidda, Carol Hamilton, Ronn Harris, Jim Hinds, Barry Jeske, Michael Nenn, Rhett Nicholson, Danny Plecas, Shazad Shah, Terry Stobbart, and Rich Vigurs.

Coun. Nelson Tilbury is not seeking another term in office. Citizens for Responsible Municipal Government (CRMG) is the only registered elector organization. Candidate for CRMG are Adlem, Hensman, Nundal, Brar, Davalovsky, Forsythe, and Harris.

Nine people have put their names forward for school board trustee in Mission, along with two candidates for the rural region.

Incumbents Randy Cairns, Edie Heinrichs, and Jim Taylor will be joined by Philip Cooper, Tracy Loffler, Paul Loyla, Kathleen MacKillop, Rick McKamey, and Scott Young on the ballot in Mission.

Incumbent Shelley Carter will be challenged by Earl Babich for the rural seat in school district 75.

In the FVRD Electoral Area C, current representative Wendy Bales, who is also running for mayor in the election, will be challenged by Alec Niemi in the race. Electoral Area C includes the communities of Hemlock Valley, a portion of Harrison Mills, Lake Errock, and Morris Valley.

FVRD Electoral Area F incumbent Ray Boucher and Electoral Area G incumbent Al Stobbart are in for another term by acclamation.

Voters will be selecting one mayor, six councillors, and four school trustees in Mission.

The 2014 municipal election takes place Saturday, Nov. 15. Advance voting will be held on Nov. 5 and Nov. 12 at municipal hall.

Just Posted

‘Our schools are safe’

Mission school superintendent Angus Wilson says training, protocols in place

Rescue boat theft marks third in 3 years for Agassiz-based SAR team

Eight-metre Spirit of Harrison rescue vessel was stolen Friday night, found Saturday morning

Mission proposes big jump in business licence fees

Some companies could go from $148 to $10,000 per year

Fraser Valley real estate predicted to slow down in 2018

B.C. Real Estate Association forecasts a cooling market

Two charged in relation to 2017 house-party shooting

Four people were injured in incident a year ago in Abbotsford

REPLAY: B.C. this week in video

In case you missed it, here’s a look at replay-worthy highlights from across the province this week

Anti-pipeline protestors block Kinder Morgan tanker near Seattle

Protest was spurred on by the 28 anti-Kinder Morgan activists arrested in Burnaby

Some surprises in new book about B.C. labour movement

“On the Line” charts history of the union movement back to the 1800s

B.C. cyclist races to first win of the season in New Zealand

Casey Brown captures Enduro title by more than two minutes at Crankworx Rotorua

Horse found stuck in muddy field rescued in Maple Ridge

Maple Ridge firefighters set up a pulley system to drag the horse to solid ground

VIDEO: Two Maple Ridge contortionists have sights set on Cirque

The Pair competed at the Viva festival in Vegas and are now auditioning for spot on America’s Got Talent

Notorious Russian troll farm also took swipes at Canadian targets

Targets included oil infrastructure and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Cirque du Soleil aerialist dies after fall during Florida show

Longtime performer fell while performing in VOLTA

Canada earns second Paralympic Games silver in 20 years

Held 1-0 lead in para hockey game from 12:06 of first to dying seconds of third and lost in overtime

Most Read