ELECTION 2015: How to vote on Oct. 19

Six candidates in the running in the Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon electoral area

  • Oct. 17, 2015 6:00 a.m.
ELECTION 2015: How to vote on Oct. 19

Voters will head to the polls Monday to pick a Member of Parliament to represent them in the newly created Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon electoral area.

The riding encompasses the entirety of Mission, along with a portion of Abbotsford. It also includes area north of the Fraser River, and the Fraser Canyon north to Lillooet. Mission was previously part of the Pitt Meadows-Maple Ridge-Mission riding.

Six candidates are running: Dennis Adamson of the NDP, Arthur Green of the Green Party, Liberal Jati Sidhu, Conservative Brad Vis, Elaine Wismer of the Marxist-Leninists and independent Wyatt Scott.

Many people will have received voting cards in the mail directing them to their designated polling place. The cards aren’t required however, and voters can register at a polling place, either with a driver’s licence or other government-issued card with a name, photo and address, or with two pieces of identification, one of which must show an address.

Poll stations will be open between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. For more information, or to find your designated polling place, visit elections.ca.

Voters had four days to cast early ballots. According to information released Wednesday, advance voting was up across Canada. A total of 9,007 people cast ballots in Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon. In the 2011 election, 6,247 voters cast early ballots int the Pitt-Meadows-Maple Ridge-Mission riding.

Read more about the local candidates and their views at missioncityrecord.com, under the 2015 Federal Election tab. On election night, watch missioncityrecord.com and The Record’s Facebook page for local polling results and live coverage.