Clockwise from top left: Pam Alexis

Clockwise from top left: Pam Alexis

Five Mission women nominated for 2014 BPW awards

2014 awards celebrate work in community service and athletic sectors

The 2014 Myrtle Evertt Women of the Year awards will be presented on May 14 by the Business and Professional Women’s Club of Mission.

The awards celebrate the contributions made by women working and volunteering in their communities. This year’s awards recognize those in the non-profit/community service and sports/athletics fields.

The Women of the Year Award was created in 1994 and named in honour of its first recipient, Myrtle Evertt, who passed away in 2006 at the age of 87. Award ceremonies are held in Mission and Abbotsford on alternative years.

This is the club’s only fundraiser for the year to provide bursaries to help local women continue post-secondary education and training.


Mission nominees for non-profit/community service:

• Pam Alexis

Alexis has a long history of involvement in Mission. Her passions are breaking down barriers and creating opportunities for all. Her contributions include serving as Rotary Club president, school board trustee, United Way community developer and fundraiser, president of Mission’s Cultural Resources Commission, and a member of the Chamber of Commerce’s board of directors and tourism committee. Most recently, she was vice president for the Mission BC Winter Games committee.


• Sylvia Hopkins

In her work at Mission Community Services, Hopkins facilitates services to families in Mission, and is a caring advocate for all children in the community. She has developed ties with other key organizations and is able to bring together families with the resources they need. Hopkins has volunteered for many years with Literacy in Motion, Riot of Reading, National Family Week, and Mission Arts Council Children’s Festival. In everything she does, Hopkins works towards building healthy and secure relationships in the community.


• Clare Seeley

Seeley works at Mission Chamber of Commerce/Visitor Information and is well known for accompanying the town mascot “Stan the Sturgeon” (which she researched and developed) on his visits to community events and notable places in the town. Seeley has helped raise awareness of community groups and highlights opportunities for community involvement. She is also an enthusiastic volunteer and has taken part in fundraising for local schools and this year she supported the BC Winter Games.


Sport/athletic nominees:

• Eden Donatelli Green

Green is a national, international and Olympic award-winning speed skater who has enthusiastically encouraged children to follow their sporting dreams. She believes hard work and developing team strengths are important not only in sport but in life. Green was director of registration and results at the 2014 BC Winter Games where she served as an inspiration to the participants.


• Amanda Philip

Philip creates after-school activities for children in Mission. Her focus is on encouraging children to develop life skills and healthy living habits together with encouraging them to be respectful, responsible and caring members of the community. For many years Philip has enthusiastically coached a girls’ softball team where she is a positive role model, working to strengthen bonds between team members and bring out their best talents.


This year’s award ceremonies will be held at Mission’s Best Western Hotel on May 14. Early bird tickets to the event are now on sale for $50 each (includes dinner) at Tickets purchased after April 21 will be $60 each.

Just Posted

Cpl. Scott MacLeod and Police Service Dog Jago. Jago was killed in the line of duty on Thursday, June 17. (RCMP)
Abbotsford police, RCMP grieve 4-year-old service dog killed in line of duty

Jago killed by armed suspect during ‘high-risk’ incident in Alberta

Kalyn Head, seen here on June 4, 2021, will be running 100 kilometres for her “birthday marathon” fundraiser on July 23. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
Woman’s 100-km birthday marathon from Chilliwack to Abbotsford will benefit Special Olympics B.C.

Kalyn Head hopes run raises awareness, advocates for inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities

Missing Abbotsford man Adam Hobbs was found deceased on Thursday evening (June 17).
Body of missing Abbotsford man Adam Hobbs found

Hobbs was reported missing Monday after leaving his job site in Langley

UFV athletes were honoured for their strength and perseverance during the pandemic. (UFV photo)
Fraser Valley athletes recognized in year without sports

UFV Cascades athletes honoured for strength shown during the pandemic

Mission students hold rally, say everyone welcome at school

Ecole Christine Morrison Elementary School hosted an Anti-Racism Day on June 15

Marco Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship during a press conference in Ottawa on Thursday, May 13, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Canada to welcome 45,000 refugees this year, says immigration minister

Canada plans to increase persons admitted from 23,500 to 45,000 and expedite permanent residency applications

Emily Steele holds up a collage of her son, 16-year-old Elijah-Iain Beauregard who was stabbed and killed in June 2019, outside of Kelowna Law Courts on June 18. (Aaron Hemens/Capital News)
Kelowna woman who fatally stabbed teen facing up to 1.5 years of jail time

Her jail sentence would be followed by an additional one to 1.5 years of supervision

The George Road wildfire near Lytton, B.C., has grown to 250 hectares. (BC Wildfire Service)
B.C. drone sighting halts helicopters fighting 250 hectares of wildfire

‘If a drone collides with firefighting aircraft the consequences could be deadly,’ says BC Wildfire Service

A dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine is pictured at a vaccination site in Vancouver Thursday, March 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
NACI advice to mix vaccines gets varied reaction from AstraZeneca double-dosers

NACI recommends an mRNA vaccine for all Canadians receiving a second dose of a COVID-19 vaccine

A aerial view shows the debris going into Quesnel Lake caused by a tailings pond breach near the town of Likely, B.C., Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Updated tailings code after Mount Polley an improvement: B.C. mines auditor

British Columbia’s chief auditor of mines has found changes to the province’s requirements for tailings storage facilities

A North Vancouver man was arrested Friday and three police officers were injured after a 10-person broke out at English Bay on June 19, 2021. (Youtube/Screen grab)
Man arrested, 3 police injured during 10-person brawl at Vancouver beach

The arrest was captured on video by bystanders, many of whom heckled the officers as they struggled with the handcuffed man

Surrey Fire Service battled a dock fire along the Fraser River late Friday night (June 18). It was on Musqueam Drive, near Industrial Road, around 10:45 p.m. (Photo: Shane MacKichan)
VIDEO: Fire engulfs pier on Surrey side of the Fraser River

Dock has reportedly been unused for a long time

People in Metro Vancouver can expect to experience a short wave of heat just in time for Father’s Day, according to Environment Canada. (Black Press Media files)
Short-lived heatwave headed for Metro Vancouver this weekend

Temperatures are expected to be up to 10 degrees higher than average Sunday and Monday

Most Read