Skip to content

List of Mission election candidates has been finalized

24 people step forward for council and board of education
Mission city hall (File photo)

The list has been finalized for the council and trustee hopefuls running in Mission’s municipal election on Oct. 15.

The list includes a mix of incumbents and newcomers to politics.

There are three candidates for mayor: H. S. Kenny Braich, Dustin Hiles and incumbent Paul Horn.

Councillors seeking re-election are Mark Davies, Jag Gill, Carol Hamilton, Ken Herar and Danny Plecas.

The only incumbent who didn’t put his name forward is Cal Crawford.

Also vying for a council seat are newcomers Earl Babich, Pash Brar, Arsh Dhaliwal, Angel Elias, Shailu Handa, Paul Hockridge, Brandon Kealey, Candace Koch, Steve McLay, Tyler McStravick and Sebastien Obi.

Council comprises six councillors and a mayor, and the term is four years.

Meanwhile, there are four seats open on the board of education, and five people running.

Incumbents Randy Cairns and Tracy Loffler have put their names forward, as did newcomers Jash Bains, Linda Hamel and Ross Lightburn-Renaud.

There was also one position open for rural trustee and, with nobody else coming forward, incumbent Shelley Carter has been acclaimed for that spot.

Mission has an estimated 30,650 eligible voters.

Vikki Hopes

About the Author: Vikki Hopes

I have been a journalist for almost 40 years, and have been at the Abbotsford News since 1991.
Read more